Sunday Treat – National Peanut Butter Lovers Month

sundae2As I’m sure you know, November is National Peanut Butter Lover’s Month.

peanut_butter_lovers

I would be sad without peanut butter, and I am not alone. According to the National Peanut Board, the amount of peanut butter eaten in a year could wrap the earth in a ribbon of 18-ounce peanut butter jars one and one-third times. Most of that peanut butter probably comes from consumption in my house. Even Mr. Ed, the talking horse from old tv, ate peanut butter. In order to make the horse look like he was talking, they spread peanut butter inside his mouth, creating a “natural talking movement” every time the animal moved his sticky jaws.

407

Another interesting fact is that apparently women and children prefer creamy, while most men opt for chunky. This is certainly true in our house; we are a two-jar family at all times. [It’s even worse than that: we are a two-BRAND family!]

His

His

Hers

Hers

Want more peanut butter fun facts? Check out this very cool peanut butter infographic.

So if there’s all this love for peanut butter, why is it so hard to find peanut butter ice cream? I don’t mean ice cream with Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups in it, I mean actual peanut butter ice cream. It being essential to my happiness, I often just make my own.

There are at least two ways to make it. There is the homemade ice cream method, a recipe for which you can see here.

peanut-butter-ice-cream-17-600

But I actually take the lazy road. Here is MY recipe for peanut butter ice cream.

Get a big bowl.

Dump a carton of Breyer’s vanilla bean ice cream into the bowl. (Breyer’s Lactose Free Vanilla works just as well.)

Let it soften.

Stir in a very large glob of peanut butter. Leave some swirly if you want but stir it in so it turns the color of peanut butter.

Put back into a large tupperware container and refreeze.

Well, put most back. Eat the rest.

But wait!

Don’t feel obliged to use up your tupperware! You can try this tasty alternative:

Before refreezing, pour ice cream into an oreo cookie crust and top with either hot fudge sauce or crushed peanut butter cups.

It’s a great quick dessert to make for company or a special dinner!


Happy Peanut Butter Lovers Month!

***

wkendcookingThis post will be linked to this Saturday’s Weekend Cooking, hosted by Beth Fish Reads. Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. where bloggers share food-related posts. Stop by her blog and see what’s cooking this week!

7 Responses

  1. That is what they do at Cold Stone Creamery, don’t they? Have soft ice cream and they smush things into it! So good. I love peanut butter in any way shape or form. I must contribute.

  2. We’re a two-jars-at-all-times family, too! So funny about Mr. Ed…

  3. Ice cream sounds quite nice, though I can’t say I would’ve thought of it before. There was a time I loved peanut butter and then I ate it too much in a phase so I haven’t tried it for years!

  4. Ooo, I didn’t realize that it was National Peanut Butter month. I better celebrate!

  5. Every month is peanut butter month at my house! I love the stuff and regularly have peanut butter and banana sandwiches for lunch. My husband makes peanut butter pancakes sometimes and has been known to make peanut butter waffles. So good! I prefer chunky peanut butter over smooth so I guess that makes me odd :)

  6. I like peanut butter, but can’t say I love it. We buy Jif creamy here too. When our friends moved back to France after 7 years here she wanted me to mail her a list of spices and as many jars of creamy Jif pb as I could fit in the box :)
    At our local ice cream shop I always get a sundae and the ice cream flavor is always peanut butter with chocolate chunk. Best ice cream I’ve ever had. (http://mitchellshomemade.com/our-menu/) You’ll have to visit Solon to try it :)

  7. Oh no no no…chunky all the way!! Although I’ve been buying the smooth for Elle and every morning I eat a breakfast of toast with the smooth peanut butter and chopped banana (or strawberries if I have them). YUMMMMMMMMM. And if I’m not feeling too lazy, I’ll cut up an apple for Elle and me to share and dip it in peanut butter. Nom.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 358 other followers

