October 1 – National Homemade Cookies Day

As you may know, I generally feel an obligation to observe national holidays. This is why today we are celebrating National Homemade Cookies Day. Our favorite cookies are Peanut Butter Blossoms (you can find a recipe here) but since those are so overly familiar, today I will feature a fun recipe for kids, Toll House Mouse Cookies. These will enable you to exercise your artistic tendencies, in addition to your gluttonous ones.

130505lrg

Ingredients:

3 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

1 cup packed brown sugar

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/3 cup NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Baking Cocoa

3/4 cup NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels

NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Semi-Sweet Chocolate Mini Morsels

Directions:

PREHEAT oven to 350° F.


COMBINE flour and baking soda in medium bowl.
Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, egg, and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy.
Gradually beat in flour mixture.
Remove 3/4 cup dough; set aside. 


BEAT cocoa gradually into remaining dough in bowl.
Stir in 3/4 cup morsels.
Roll chocolate dough into 3/4-inch ball.
Place on ungreased baking sheet and press to 1/4-inch thickness.
Roll chocolate dough into two 1/2-inch balls.
Place each above larger circle and press to 1/4-inch thickness for ears.
Roll reserved white dough into 1/4-inch ball and place in center of large circle for nose.
Repeat with remaining doughs, placing cookies 2 inches apart on baking sheet. 


BAKE for 8 to 10 minutes or until dough is set.
Arrange mini morsels on warm cookies for eyes and one on top of nose.
Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; carefully remove to wire racks to cool completely.

***

After the cookies are baked, you will want to keep them soft and moist. According to The King Arthur Flour bakers, there is a science to this. (Personally we never have this problem because cookies don’t last long enough to get hard. It’s similar to the problem-we-never-have about how best to keep wine after the bottle has been opened.)

jacket-cookiebkFCscan

They recommend you cover the cookie pan loosely with a clean dish towel as soon as the cookies come out of the oven. Once they are just warm rather than hot, wrap them in plastic wrap. Alternatively, you can wrap them airtight with a “cookie softener” or “sugar softener” – a small piece of porous ceramic that has been soaked in water.

A "sugar softener" shaped like a bear

A “sugar softener” shaped like a bear

***

Special Note for Gluten-Free People: King Arthur’s store also offers a variety of gluten-free baking mixes. You can also find them at Target, however, along with a variety of Betty Crocker gluten-free mixes.

Screen Shot 2013-08-29 at 10.26.01 AM


Happy National Homemade Cookies Day!

***

wkendcookingThis post will be linked to this Saturday’s Weekend Cooking, hosted by Beth Fish Reads. Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. where bloggers share food-related posts. Stop by her blog and see what’s cooking this week!

19 Responses

  1. *sigh* So that means I have to bake cookies today? I AM going to Target today so I might just have to go down that aisle…

  2. I learned something new – “cookie day” how cool is that and these look like definite kid pleasers for the kid in all of us.

  3. Mmmmmm, ME WANT COOKIE!

    Adorable Teddy Bear cookie softener thingie. . .

  4. These are adorable… may just have to make some celebration snickerdoodles today!

  5. Oh man, I wish I had the time to bake some cookies today. I bought some gluten free flour at Your Dekalb Farmer’s Market but need to see if our Target has King Arthur gluten free options.

  6. Thank you for including the gluten free stuff. I love King Arthur’s products and there is this pricey flour at Williams Sonoma called Cup for Cup that allowed me to have a REAL dinner roll at Thanksgiving last year.I think I had 6 rolls that day.

  7. That cookie looks adorable! I will have to give it a try!

  8. How utterly cute! And I’m such a total fan of KAF — although I’ve never tried their GF products. Now I have the desire to bake …

  9. My husband is a great cookie baker, I wonder how he managed to miss knowing about this day? Very cute cookies you made!

  10. The Toll House Mouse cookies are just too sweet.:)

  11. Oh I missed National Homemade Cookie Day! I made up for it today by baking pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. I love your cute cookies.

  12. I used to make cookies all the time when the kids were little, but haven’t, except for Christmas, in years. Your mouse cookies sound good, and are so cute!

  13. Glad to know I enjoyed a cookie on National Cookie Day.

  14. I wonder if it is International Cookie Day – although we would of course call it International Biscuit Day! I could call it Cookie/Biscuit day in my house and just celebrate for the heck of it!

    Those mouse cookies are very cute!

  15. Aww. Thank you for including the gluten free recommendation. Gage does not like peanut butter or chocolate. Seriously, how is that even possible? I’ve not given up hope and am fighting the good fight of trying to force it on him. To which I receive the response, “No! Thank you.”

  16. They are absolutely adorable! While I missed National Cookie Day, I plan to add this recipe to my list activities to try with my granddaughter… some day

  17. How fun! I never have a problem with keeping cookies fresh, either – must be an issue for those with more self-restraint than I or my friends have!

  18. Those are cute! I just put a slice of bread in the container with the cookies and that keeps them soft.

  19. Great looking cookies. am going to send the link to my sister and tell her she can pretend they are teddy bears instead of mice. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 382 other followers

