Review of “Death Angel” by Linda Fairstein

This is the fifteenth crime novel featuring 38-year-old Alexandra (“Alex”) Cooper, 38, the prosecutor in charge of the Special Victims Unit in Manhattan District Attorney’s office.

9780525953876_p0_v1_s260x420

Alex has been called to the scene of a murder that took place near the Angel of the Waters statue in Central Park. Summoned as well is her friend and police SVU detective Mercer Wallace, and homicide detective Mike Chapman.

Because the crime has taken place in Central Park, the police need to scan the park for clues, so we, along with them, get thoroughly briefed in the history, background, and topography of the park, which is the best part of the book.

We find out, for example, that Central Park is 843 acres – six percent of the total size of Manhattan! – with an annual budget of $46 million (85% of which comes from private funds). As Alex and Mike and Mercer explore the Ravine and the Ramble and the Sheep Meadow and so on, I very much wished I could take the book with me as a guidebook in the park.

Angel of the Waters (Bethesda Fountain), Central Park, New York City.

Angel of the Waters (Bethesda Fountain), Central Park, New York City.

Otherwise, the story is pretty standard fare: a bit of a mystery, a bit of tension, and a bit of romance. Fairstein generates reliably entertaining books that could readily be transformed into a winning television series.

Rating: 3/5

Published by Dutton, a member of Penguin Group (USA) Inc., 2013

9 Responses

  1. I’ve not read all of these books, but I’ve read many of them. I’m never compelled to pick up every single one, but the characters are like old friends that I like catching up with. If the author can throw in something that helps me learn something new, my expectations are usually met!

  2. Haven’t read anything by this author in a long while. I like the sound of it this one because of “central park”:)

  3. The Central Park angle is appealing…

  4. I read a few of her early books and enjoyed them. The last one I read wasn’t as good to me. I’m not sure if the series has gotten old or if I’ve moved on to other genres.

  5. I love to learn about a place I barely know so the Central Park facts would suit me fine. I entered a contest to win a copy of this one. Hope I win.

  6. I haven’t read any in this series. I used to devour mysteries like this but I’ve gotten away from them lately.

  7. You should take it next time and tell us how it measures up :) I’ve never been to the park (nor the US for that matter) but I’d read it for the information, too. It sounds the best part all round.

  8. This sounds like it could make for a great series on t.v.

  9. I don’t know if I’ve ever read one of these but I like the setting in this one!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 329 other followers

