Moveable Virtual Blogger Pub Crawl – Bring On The Cheese!

This week, four bloggers including me will take you on a tour of beer, wine, cheese, and bread suitable for a pub tour. The tour started on Tuesday of this week with this post on beer by Kathy of BermudaOnion. Today I throw some cheese into the mix.

I’m not going to MAKE cheese – how odd of you even to think so! – but I am going to introduce two of my very favorite cheeses, since they fit into my favorite food group (i.e., cholesterol).

The first cheese is from Beecher’s in Seattle and New York, but you can order it online. You can also sometimes find it in gourmet stores, by checking out Beecher’s handy locator guide.

Screen shot 2013-06-17 at 9.11.52 AM

The Beecher’s website features not only products, but guidelines for pairing wine and cheese, in the unlikely event our blog posts don’t fully satisfy your needs in that regard. Then they have lots of cheese info in a Cheese Library (oh, to be the librarian of such a library!)

My favorite cheese from Beecher’s is the Marco Polo. As the website reports:

Beecher’s Marco Polo takes lightly milled green and black peppercorns and blends them with our creamy cheese. The resulting cheese is rich in savory umami and butter notes.”

35

Yes! Exactly as I would have described it, especially that part about the “note.”

[Our real description: we love the peppercorns because they make the cheese hot so you have to drink more red wine]

Now, moving on from Beecher’s and back to my newly local neck of the woods, I take you to Brennan’s in Wisconsin. Brennan’s is a gourmet food store sort of specializing in cheese, and one of my favorite places.

JuneJuly2010 214

It was Brennan’s that taught me to savor Muenster. Since Brennan’s features fresh-cut prize-winning cheeses, their Muenster tastes nothing like you find in a regular grocery case, but is creamy and floating and ethereal with only a hint of the strong taste you usually find. But okay, it’s only my second favorite cheese from Brennan’s. My first is the Cranberry Cheddar. It’s totally Wisconsin, and totally addictive! As with Beecher’s, you can order cheese online.

cranberrycheddar_000

Brennan’s too suggests what to pair with their cheeses, especially since they also sell wine and beer. (And they sell “pie in a bag” and kringle, both also Wisconsin traditions, but I digress. However, lest you, too, are easily distracted, I’ve provided links from where you can order these items as well.)

Finally, we move on to cheese and bread, because that’s where we’re going tomorrow. There are a number of ways to enjoy this combination, such as pizza, grilled cheese, or even French Onion Soup Without The Soup.

Screen shot 2013-06-17 at 9.19.59 AM

Be sure to stop in tomorrow at the blog of JoAnn at Lakeside Musing, and Friday at the blog of Sandy at You’ve Gotta Read This! for the continuation of the Virtual Pub Crawl!

wkendcookingThis post will be linked to this Saturday’s Weekend Cooking, hosted by Beth Fish Reads. Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. where bloggers share food-related posts. Stop by her blog and see what’s cooking this week!

18 Responses

  1. Oh how I love cheese! It’s my main source of dairy. All of the cheeses you described sound wonderful. I coordinated a beer and cheese tasting at the store and it was a huge hit. People have been asking for another one so we plan to do it again during football season.

  2. Oh man do I love cheese! I am annoyed that there is nothing Beecher’s near me (only side dishes apparently, at a place pretty far from my house!). But that doesn’t mean I can’t look for it when I am out and about other places. And I so want that cranberry one! Maybe the diet needs to hold off a little longer…

  3. oh my, you guys are killing me! I am such a cheese addict! currently my favorite cheese has jalapenos in it but i’m certainly now craving the one you mention with peppercorns. hope your links are affiliates ~ i could make you rich with my order alone! hahaha!

  4. This post makes me unbelievably happy! I’m a cheese lover, too, and Beecher’s in NYC is very close to my daughter’s apartment… I can’t wait until my next visit. Just knowing there is such a thing as cranberry cheddar in this world makes me smile :-)

  5. Oo, cranberry cheese. We buy cranberry cheese, a Wensleydale, and it’s gorgeous. The Marco Polo sounds great, though I guess you can only eat a bit of it at once! My current favourite is chedder with chives.

  6. I love, love, love cheese!!!!! We are blessed with three or four local artisan cheese makers in my area and we buy their cheese all summer long.

  7. My in-laws live in Madison, and Brennan’s is always one of our last stops — we load up the cooler with good cheese for the ride home! I have never heard of the Marco Polo, but it sounds great.

  8. The peppercorn cheese sounds fantastic, although I have to admit I prefer melted cheese as opposed to chunks of cheese. I know, weird, but that’s just the way I am. :) Can’t wait to see more of the pub crawl posts!

  9. Thanks for the tour! That cranberry cheddar and French onion looks scrumptious.

  10. LOVE cheese! They all sound good, Think I’m adding this to my list!
    Here’s My Weekend Cooking

  11. That’s funny, I always thought cranberries and Cheddar were very New England foods! ;) I love the idea of visiting a cheese shop. I do want to visit Wisconsin one of these days and maybe we can go to Brennan’s while we’re there.

  12. You have inspired me to try a new cheese today! Cheers

  13. wait, if this is a virtual pub crawl, will virtual beer be served?

  14. Fun! And that cranberry cheddar looks amazing.

  15. Since I’m drinking wine right now I am totally craving some cheese (and not that yucky soy cheese we have in the frig for Gage).

  16. Wow! You’ve seriously made me hungry and now I feel like I have to have some of that cheese!

  17. Oh my goodness, I love cranberry cheddar cheese! And why have I never thought of French onion soup without the broth; sounds delicious.

  18. What about cheese curds? Didn’t you mention that you can get those now that you moved?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

