Review of “Looking for Me” by Beth Hoffman

This is a lovely book about a woman who is so nice you wouldn’t think she would be believable, except somehow, the author makes her so. This possibly could be because apparently the author is very much like this herself. You only need to search for reviews for her books and note how many start with, “I should admit from the start that I have met Beth Hoffman and I love her!”

9780670025831_Looking_for_Me

Teddi Overman is 36 and has an antique restoration shop in Charleston. She came from Kentucky, near the Daniel Boone National Forest, where both she and her brother Josh developed a fierce appreciation of and love for nature, especially animals and birds. And from age ten, Teddi also discovered a love of restoring old furniture, and now, much to her mother’s consternation, that is what she does for a living.

But Teddi never has gotten over the fact that her brother went missing when he was eighteen; they were so close, and she loved him so much; and not knowing what happened to him keeps him very much alive in her head and heart. She is also dealing with an internal struggle over the fate of her family’s farm in Kentucky: she has so many great memories there, and feels so attached to it, but in truth, with Josh gone, there is no one to care for it. With the help of her grandmother, she learns “sometimes it’s not what we hold on to that shapes our lives – it’s what we’re willing to let go of.”

Evaluation: I don’t think this book is supposed to be a “tear-jerker,” but I cried several times while reading it. The author manages to make Teddi’s pains and joys and loves our own, and we can’t help feeling what she is feeling. Even her dog Buddy (who does not die, I should add), is portrayed in such a warm affectionate way it seems as if you can actually feel him in your lap as you read!

Almost all the human characters in the book are also ones you wish you knew, and feel lucky to have “known” while reading. The writing is quite fine, and Hoffman has the talent of bringing us to where she is, whether deep in the forest or out in the streets of Charleston, and making us see what she sees.

Rating: 3.5/5

Published by Pamela Dorman Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA), 2013

18 Responses

  1. I’m in the camp of “I met Beth and I love her”! But I also love her writing; it is incredibly authentic.

  2. I’m another one who has met and loves Beth. She does make her books come alive for readers. As I read Looking For Me, I suspected Teddi is very much like Beth. I loved this book!

  3. She is not only super nice, but she also supports the blogging community. Very few (if any) authors do that. Plus, as Beth F. said, she can really write.

  4. Beth has also been a warm and welcome guest on my blog. I loved her first novel and can’t wait to read this one. I’m saving it for my mini-vacation to Charleston later this year!

  5. This sounds sweet…do I own this? Must go look right now!

  6. I loved CeeCee so much that it’s inevitable I’ll read this sometime, but it’s always good to read positive reviews of it anyway. Glad you liked it and if it’s a tear-jerker then it sounds better than CeeCee, a lot of emotion.

  7. I’ve heard so much about her books. Must make time to read them.

  8. I really loved this book, and yes, I cried!

  9. I’m glad you enjoyed it! I cried, too.

  10. Thank you so much for your lovely review. I’m delighted that you enjoyed Teddi’s story.

  11. Never met Beth, but I enjoy her books and thought this was very good. I’m not a crier though:)

  12. I’m so glad that you liked it. Now you just have to meet Beth :)

  13. Brava! And while I have not met Beth Hoffman, she gives so much of herself online. I don’t know many authors that do that consistently. And honestly, after you read this book, it is hard to imagine that the author could be anything but precious. Such a wonderful read.

  14. I have heard so many wonderful things about Ms. Hoffman but have not had the pleasure of reading her books as of yet. This one definitely sounds like a great one to start with!

  15. I haven’t met Beth or read her books but based on what everyone says, I really need to. And I appreciate that you told me the dog doesn’t die. :)

  16. Loved this book and love Beth big time!!

  17. Me, too; I cried, too! Such a lovely book.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 282 other followers

