June 28 – Celebrate Tau Day!

As you know, many people celebrate PI Day by having Pi pie. (See my post on Pi Day, here.) But there is a rival movement afoot to replace Pi Day with Tau Day (and indeed, to replace Pi with Tau as a standard).

Pi, of course, is the ratio of a circle’s circumference to its diameter (3.14159265…), currently celebrated on March 14. Tau, or τ, is the ratio of a circle’s circumference to its radius. Thus it is twice the amount of π (6.28318530…). (Hence the celebration on June 28.)

PiTau

Mathematicians are divided on the issue, but to me it makes infinite [sic] sense to celebrate Tau Day, because it implies TWO pieces of pie. TWO pies. This sounds like a good thing.

Two Times PI:

Some 2012 winners from the yearly contest sponsored by the Serious Eats Blog:

20120330-Pi-mold-and-3-Berry-Pi-day-Pi-Pie

20120330-To-314-or-not-to-pie


Happy 6.28318530717958647692… Day!

10 Responses

  1. Twice pie (pi) sounds like a great idea! Except that it might give me twice the chin or twice the belly roll…

  2. I’ll take two pis please.

  3. I like Pi Day better…because of the pie. This seems like one of those fake holidays..not like Pi Day!

  4. Too bad I don’t like pie.

  5. Love it, though I couldn’t imagine pi not being around in future!

  6. Happy Tau day! Two pieces of pie are better than one. But I will always be partial to pi because it has the cooler symbol :)

  7. Word. Hell with you, pi! We’re moving on to new things!

    (I have no dog in this fight really. But I like REBELLION.)

  8. I love pie, but this will give me an excuse to make two.

  9. I agree that if I can eat double the pie, then it’s a celebration!

  10. You always post such fun and informative pieces!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

