March 14, 2013 – Celebrate Pi Day!

Pi, Greek letter (π), is the symbol for the ratio of the circumference of a circle to its diameter. Pi Day is celebrated around the world on March 14th since Pi = 3.1415926535…

happy-piday-false-there-is-no-piday-in-europe-only-143
Thanks to computers, Pi has been calculated to trillions of digits past the decimal point, and is called “irrational” because it continues indefinitely without repeating and without ending.

So we cannot solve the mystery – now, at any rate – of what the final value of Pi is. BUT! There are other mysteries associated with Pi.

For example, isn’t it suspicious that Albert Einstein, one of the greatest minds of all time, was born on March 14th?

360_einsteincover991231

And here’s an even greater mystery! Why do so many people celebrate Pi Day with a SWEET PIE instead of a PIZZA PIE? Is there really anything better than deep dish pizza? I leave it to you, readers, to weigh in (so to speak) on this timeless condundrum.

1272042569552

***

(You know you want the recipe for Stuffed Pizza that goes with this picture! Fortunately for you, I am including a link to the King Arthur Flour site, from whence it comes.)


Happy 3.14159265358979323846264338327950288419716939… Day!

pipie_620x350

13 Responses

  1. I’ll take a nice, 500 calorie slice of Giordano’s pizza, thanks. I didn’t want to cook tonight anyway!

  2. Pizza Pie works for me! maybe I will order that AND finish with a slice of sweet pie…

  3. Apple Pie, Pizza Pie, both for me please:) Happy Pi Day LOL

    (Good day to see Li of Pi too I guess)

  4. That King Arthur — yummmy. Maybe I’ll make pizza for dinner tonight.

  5. My husband brought a pie to work today, in honor of the day. He is a big Pi Day fan!

  6. Happy Pi Day! I’ve been anticipating it for weeks. I would so do pizza but I want a pumpkin pie more so that’s what we are doing at my house :) I had no idea Einstein was born on 3/14. Coincidence? I don’t think so!

  7. I’ll have pizza pie with you – I don’t care for sweet pie. Happy Pi Day!

  8. You are so outside of the box – I would have never even thought of pizza PIE. LOL I do love dip dish pizza. Yum!

  9. I wish I’d thought to make an apple pie today! Oh well — less calories consumed.

  10. So cool that Einstein’s birthday is 314!

  11. Damn … I really must pay attention to obscure holidays that could somehow involve me eating good things!

  12. Aw, see, I should’ve totally had pizza on pie today. Except I sort of don’t like the use of “pie” to mean pizza. I know it’s perfectly legitimate but I just don’t like it.

  13. Hello are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my
    own. Do you require any coding knowledge to make
    your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers

