Review of “Reached” by Ally Condie

Note: This book contains mild spoilers for Book One, Matched, and Book Two, Crossed, but there are no spoilers for this book, the end of the trilogy.

This is Book Three of “The Matched Trilogy” (click on the links to access my reviews of Book One, Matched, and Book Two, Crossed.) Book Three is definitely not a standalone, in any sense.

n401266

Narration in this book switches back and forth among Cassia, Xander, and Ky. During most of the book, the three of them use their Society-honed skills to work for the Rising, which is trying to cope with the Plague. Initially controllable, the Plague has now mutated, becoming super-virulent and pandemic.

When the three main protagonists are not obsessing over the Plague or each other, they are obsessing over who is the real “Pilot” – a messianic-like leader who will make everything All Better.

Evaluation: This book bored me hugely. The plot is predictable; Xander speaks like a robot; Cassia and Ky have as much chemistry as inert gas; and the recurring riff on “who is the Pilot” made me feel like I was trapped in a “Where’s Waldo?” book. He’s the pilot! No! She’s the pilot! Wait! You’re the pilot! No, we’re ALL the pilot! Sheesh. A “Plague” on all your houses! Get me outta here!

Rating: 1.5/5

Published by Dutton Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA), Inc., 2012.

12 Responses

  1. I loved Matched, yet to read Crossed, so I’m sad to read this because the things you’ve mentioned are the sort that would put me off, too. I haven’t got a clue about the plague or pilot, but wondering like that sounds very dull. It sounds like the original plot got lost.

  2. Ugh, I read Matched and it was just okay for me. This makes me glad I did not spend time continuing to read this one!

  3. Well, that’s a relief. This isn’t my kind of book and now I don’t even have to consider it.

  4. What a disappointment after reading the first two!

  5. I have the first book, and my daughter picked it up but abandoned it at about half way. I took that as a sign. She is a pretty good judge of compelling YA novels. (And so are you.)

  6. It’s a bummer when the last book in a trilogy bombs like that. I think I may have the first one on audio – I’ll have to check.

  7. A trilogy I don’t need to read I see!

  8. I love your review. Would hate the book. Thanks.

  9. I tried listening to the first book a few months ago, and was bored to tears. It was not only predictable, but the characters felt lifeless and cardboard. I just did not like it at all. I am very impressed that you stuck with it until the end!

  10. 1.5!!!!!!! Wowsers…what that means to me is that I will not be reading this trilogy!

  11. LOL!! I do think I’ll read this one but with VERY tempered expectations. I really liked the first one but was “eh” about the second.

  12. Sounds like this trilogy really fizzled!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers

