Moby Dick Mondays

Ti of the blog Book Chatter is sponsoring a challenge, which starts today, to read the classic Moby Dick. We happen to have the unabridged audiodisks for this book, which my husband listened to and loved (see his review here). So I thought I would join Ti and listen along with her and the other readers. On Mondays, we’ll be posting about our progress. If you’re interested, you can also stop in at the other participating blogs to see how our posts compare. It’s a small group, consisting of Ti, me, and three more: Jill of Fizzythoughts, Claire of Kiss A Cloud, and Toni of A Circle of Books.

Moby Dick Monday Medium Button

I’ll be listening (in the car) to 18 CDs read, no, acted, by Frank Muller. I’ve heard the first couple chapters now, and I must say, while listening I feel as if I have been transported to a dark theater hearing a thrilling performance. So far, it’s everything my husband claimed it to be. And I can also tell that had I been reading the same material in a book, I would have become bogged down in dictionaries and pronunciation guides and googling classical references and feeling overwhelmed. Instead, when I turn on the CD, I’m enveloped in the magical tale being spun by the book’s narrator Ishmael. Even though the streets are full of snowbirds who have forgotten their way around, cell phone dialers, and other menaces to my sanity, I can’t wait to go out for my next drive and resume the tale!

19 Responses

  1. I hope you enjoy that. What a challenge! I read Moby Dick in college and it was my least favorite reading experience. My husband and I have regular “spars” on the merits of this novel. LOL! It sounds like audio might be the way to go.

  2. I was going to say you guys are much braver than I, but the audio has intrigued me. There are several versions on audible and I’m wondering which one you’re listening to. Still don’t think I could attempt this one though….

  3. I haven’t read Moby Dick either – it is one of those books which I feel I should read. Good luck with it!

  4. Hey.. thanks for joining me!

    Dar from Peeking Between the Pages just decided to join us as well and pointed out that a lot of eReaders can download this book for free.

    I am starting my four pages tonight!

  5. Oh! This is so tempting! I just got a copy at my last friends of the library sale. Hmmm….

  6. Yes I decide to join in with you all. I should be able to manage that small amount of pages a day. lol. The eBook was actually 0.99 instead of free. You can read it free on your computer though and I’d rather have it on my reader. Should be fun to get through this one!

  7. Thanks for reading this one!! That way I can enjoy it vicariously through you!! LOL!!

  8. I’m going to try to tough out the print version for a few more days (because I bought the damn thing). But it’s nice to know I have options. :-)

  9. I think listening to the audiobook may be the only way I would tackle Moby Dick again. I read it in high school and it was a painful experience.

  10. I am stopping by to make sure you seen the response to your comment on the Cleopatras Daughter post here: :)

    http://readbookswritepoetry.blogspot.com/2009/11/tss-cleopatras-daughter-by-michelle.html

  11. I’ve thought about trying to read Moby Dick but I’ve always been too intimidated by hearing how it talks a lot about whaling stuff. Maybe listening to it is the way to go. I will have to see where I can find it.

  12. I think audio would be the only way I’d tackle this book again. It sounds like you found a really good one. Enjoy

  13. I used to have a poster in my dorm room that drove my roommate nuts. It was a silhouette of a crazed looking Ahab and flecked with bright read splots of blood captioned Ahab Was Wrong. Cool poster. I think I acquired it when I read the book eons ago.

  14. Dear Rhapsody:
    An excellent idea –unfortunately, I will not be able to join in any way but spirit since our unabridged printed version of MD is deep beneath the bed beyond the reach of my paws and Yours Truly listening to our unabridged audio version would raise Harry’s eyebrows higher than I fancy seeing them go.
    I can imagine a thespian delighting in the opening “Whenever I find myself growing grim about the mouth; whenever it is a damp, drizzly November in my soul; whenever I find myself involuntarily pausing before coffin warehouses, and bringing up the rear of every funeral I meet…” but have genuine concerns as to how Mr. Frank Muller will tackle chapter 32 “Cetology” in which Melville delivers such lyrical confections as “It is some systematized exhibition of the whale in his broad genera, that I would now fain put before you. Yet is it no easy task. The classification of the constituents of a chaos, nothing less is here essayed. Listen to what the best and latest authorities have laid down. ”
    J.F. has told me (and on this point we uncharacteristically agree) that reading Moby Dick sometime ago led him to this conclusion about value of the great works: that to do so is to re-learn language and the act of reading and to subject yourself to re-invention. It is also to learn patience (as he found in that aforementioned chapter on Cetology) and in this age of easy consumption to become the rare thing: a participant in his/her entertainment.
    I am looking forward to reading your ship’s log of the journey.
    Sincerely,
    Randolph

  15. Sounds like this is the way to get through Moby Dick. I might just have to give it a go!

  16. I’m in!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

